Superintendent Column - Franklin City Schools


Greetings from Franklin City Schools!

A highlight of our regular Board of Education meetings is personally recognizing and congratulating our many outstanding students. In 2001, a board member asked the district to establish a Student Achievement Committee. The committee then created a Student Achievement Award to honor students who've demonstrated exceptional achievement in academics, community service, citizenship, or character. Since its inception, hundreds of students have been honored. 

Committee members include parents, community residents, board members, administrators, and students; they meet during the school year to evaluate nominations which may be submitted by students, teachers, administrators, or community members. Some achievements earn automatic nominations, such as 10 quarters of straight As, being honored with a year-end award such as Wildcat of the Year, or earning a perfect or high (95th percentile) score on a standardized test such as the ACT. 

Honored students are asked to attend a board meeting with their families, and awards are presented by their building principals. Board members personally congratulate the students, and they're also recognized on our website, Facebook page, and in local news media. At its Sept. 28 meeting, the Franklin Board of Education recognized 17 students. Students honored for earning 10 quarters of straight As through the third quarter of last school year were Landon Middleton, Andrew Jenkins, Emma Morgan, Levi Moyer, Spencer Blair, Elijah Koss, Jonah Williams, Kendra Allen, and Isabella Barker. Two Schenck Elementary students were honored for the year-end awards they had received: Callen Johnson (Eli Nardi Award) and Ariyanna Blackstone (Ronnie Charles Award). Two students were honored for having won the Archie Griffin Award at Franklin Junior High: Sophia Aldridge and Carter Black. Eli Alanis and Audrey Sove were honored for being named the 7th Grade Wildcats of the Year; Kensington Black and Jacob Eyink were honored for being named the 8th grade Wildcats of the Year.At the October 26 meeting, we'll honor twenty-nine students who are members of Franklin High School's Principal's 30+ Club for their outstanding ACT scores. 

If you know of a student who should be considered for this award, we invite you to nominate them using our online nomination form

On Sept. 28, the board also recognized one of our many outstanding teachers. Tonija Fidler was honored as Franklin High School's 2020 Dave Gregory Teacher of the Year. Fidler has created a new program at FHS that helps students learn vital job skills and fosters important relationships with local employers. As always, if you have questions or concerns about Franklin City Schools, don’t hesitate to contact me at (937) 746-1699 or 

Michael D. Sander, Ed.D, Superintendent, Franklin City Schools

I am interested in this
I disagree with this
This is not local
This is unverified